Languages
[Edit]
EN

MS SQL Server - select last row

0 points
Created by:
Mark-Rotteveel
327

In this article, we would like to show you how to select the last row from a table in MS SQL Server.

Quick solution:

SELECT TOP 1 * 
FROM [table_name]
ORDER BY [column_name] DESC;

Practical example

To show how to select the last row from a table, we will use the following table:

MS SQL Server - example data used to select the last row from a table
MS SQL Server - example data used to select the last row from a table

Note:

At the end of this article you can find database preparation SQL queries.

Example 1 - select all columns

In this example, we will select all the information (columns) about the last user from the users table.

Query:

SELECT TOP 1 * 
FROM [users]
ORDER BY [id] DESC;

Output:

MS SQL Server - select last row from a table - result
MS SQL Server - select last row from a table - results

Example 2 - select specified columns

In this example, we will select id, name and country column information about the last user from the users table.

Query:

SELECT TOP 1 [id], [name], [country]
FROM [users]
ORDER BY [id] DESC;

Output:

MS SQL Server - select last row from a table - result
MS SQL Server - select last row from a table - results

Database preparation

create_tables.sql file:

CREATE TABLE [users] (
	[id] INT IDENTITY(1,1),
	[name] VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	[email] VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	[country] VARCHAR(15) NOT NULL,
	PRIMARY KEY ([id])
);

insert_data.sql file:

INSERT INTO [users]
	([name], [email], [country])
VALUES
	('Tom', 'tom@email.com', 'Poland'),
	('Chris', 'chris@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Jack', 'jack@email.com', 'Spain'),
    ('Kim', 'kim@email.com', 'Vietnam'),
    ('Marco', 'marco@email.com', 'Italy'),
	('Kate', 'kate@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Nam', 'nam@email.com', 'Vietnam');

MS SQL Server - problems

MS SQL Server - select last row
Native Advertising
🚀
Get your tech brand or product in front of software developers.
For more information Contact us
Dirask - we help you to
solve coding problems.
Ask question.

â€ïžđŸ’» 🙂

Join