Languages
[Edit]
EN

MS SQL Server - Select from view

0 points
Created by:
Mark-Rotteveel
477

In this article, we would like to show you how to select from a view in MS SQL Server.

Quick solution:

SELECT [column1], [column2], [columnN]
FROM [view_name]
WHERE condition;

Practical example

To show how to select from a view, we will use the following view named spain_users:

MS SQL Server - example data used to select from view
MS SQL Server - example data used to select from view

Note:

At the end of this article you can find database preparation SQL queries.

Example

In this example, we will select email column from the spain_users view.

Query:

SELECT [email]
FROM [spain_users];

Result:

MS SQL Server - SELECT from view - result
MS SQL Server - SELECT from view - result

Database preparation

create_tables.sql file:

CREATE TABLE [users] (
	[id] INT IDENTITY(1,1),
	[name] VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	[email] VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	[country] VARCHAR(15) NOT NULL,
	PRIMARY KEY ([id])
);

insert_data.sql file:

INSERT INTO [users]
	([name], [email], [country])
VALUES
	('Tom', 'tom@email.com', 'Poland'),
	('Chris','chris@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Jack','jack@email.com', 'Spain'),
    ('Kim','kim@email.com', 'Vietnam'),
    ('Marco','marco@email.com', 'Italy'),
	('Kate','kate@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Nam','nam@email.com', 'Vietnam');

create_view.sql file:

CREATE VIEW [spain_users] AS
SELECT *
FROM [users]
WHERE [country] = 'Spain';
Donate to Dirask
Our content is created by volunteers - like Wikipedia. If you think, the things we do are good, donate us. Thanks!
Join to our subscribers to be up to date with content, news and offers.

MS SQL Server - problems

MS SQL Server - Select from view
Native Advertising
🚀
Get your tech brand or product in front of software developers.
For more information Contact us
Dirask - we help you to
solve coding problems.
Ask question.

❤️💻 🙂

Join