Languages
[Edit]
EN

MS SQL Server - Create view

0 points
Created by:
aaliyah
411

In this article, we would like to show you how to create a view in MS SQL Server.

Quick solution:

CREATE VIEW [view_name] AS
SELECT [column1], [column2], ...
FROM [table_name]
WHERE condition;

Practical example

To show how the CREATE VIEW statement works, we will use the following table:

MS SQL Server - example data used with CREATE VIEW statement
MS SQL Server - example data used with CREATE VIEW statement

Note:

At the end of this article you can find database preparation SQL queries.

Example

In this example, we will create a view that shows all users from Spain.

Query:

CREATE VIEW [Spain Users] AS
SELECT [name], [email]
FROM [users]
WHERE [country] = 'Spain';

To see the view created with the query above simply use:

SELECT * FROM [Spain Users];

Result:

MS SQL Server - View created by CREATE VIEW (HeidiSQL) 
MS SQL Server - View created by CREATE VIEW (HeidiSQL)

 

Database preparation

create_tables.sql file:

CREATE TABLE [users] (
	[id] INT IDENTITY(1,1),
	[name] VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	[email] VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	[country] VARCHAR(15) NOT NULL,
	PRIMARY KEY ([id])
);

insert_data.sql file:

INSERT INTO [users]
	([name], [email], [country])
VALUES
	('Tom', 'tom01@email.com', 'Poland'),
	('Chris','chris123@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Jack','jack32@email.com', 'Spain'),
   ('Kim','kim103@email.com', 'Vietnam'),
   ('Marco','marco942@email.com', 'Italy'),
	('Kate','kate227@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Nam','nam393@email.com', 'Vietnam');
Donate to Dirask
Our content is created by volunteers - like Wikipedia. If you think, the things we do are good, donate us. Thanks!
Join to our subscribers to be up to date with content, news and offers.

MS SQL Server

Native Advertising
🚀
Get your tech brand or product in front of software developers.
For more information Contact us
Dirask - we help you to
solve coding problems.
Ask question.

❤️💻 🙂

Join