Languages
[Edit]
EN

MS SQL Server - Create or alter view

0 points
Created by:
Dirask JS Member
3460

In this article, we would like to show you how to create and update a view using CREATE OR ALTER VIEW in MS SQL Server.

Quick solution:

CREATE OR ALTER VIEW [view_name] AS
SELECT [column1], [column2], [columnN]
FROM [table_name]
WHERE condition;

Practical example

To show how to create or replace a view, we will use the following table:

MS SQL Server - example data used to create or replace a view
MS SQL Server - example data used to create or alter a view

Note:

At the end of this article you can find database preparation SQL queries.

Example 1 - create view

In this example, we will create a view using CREATE OR ALTER VIEW statement.

Query:

CREATE OR ALTER VIEW [spain_users] AS
SELECT *
FROM [users]
WHERE [country] = 'Spain';

Result:

MS SQL Server - create or replace a view - result
MS SQL Server - create or alter a view - results

Example 2 - update view

In this example, we will remove the country column from the view created in Example 1. We will remove the column by updating the existing view using CREATE OR ALTER VIEW statement.

Query:

CREATE OR ALTER VIEW [spain_users] AS
SELECT [id], [name], [email]
FROM [users]
WHERE [country] = 'Spain';

Result:

MS SQL Server - create or replace a view - result
MS SQL Server - create or alter a view - results

Database preparation

create_tables.sql file:

CREATE TABLE [users] (
	[id] INT IDENTITY(1,1),
	[name] VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	[email] VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	[country] VARCHAR(15) NOT NULL,
	PRIMARY KEY ([id])
);

insert_data.sql file:

INSERT INTO [users]
	([name], [email], [country])
VALUES
	('Tom', 'tom@email.com', 'Poland'),
	('Chris','chris@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Jack','jack@email.com', 'Spain'),
    ('Kim','kim@email.com', 'Vietnam'),
    ('Marco','marco@email.com', 'Italy'),
	('Kate','kate@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Nam','nam@email.com', 'Vietnam');

create_view.sql file:

CREATE VIEW [spain_users] AS
SELECT *
FROM [users]
WHERE [country] = 'Spain';

MS SQL Server - problems

MS SQL Server - Create or alter view
Native Advertising
🚀
Get your tech brand or product in front of software developers.
For more information Contact us
Dirask - we help you to
solve coding problems.
Ask question.

❤️💻 🙂

Join