Languages
[Edit]
EN

MySQL - select last row

0 points
Created by:
Dirask Community
6240

In this article, we would like to show you how to select the last row from a table in MySQL.

Quick solution:

SELECT * FROM `table_name`
ORDER BY `column_name` DESC
LIMIT 1;

Practical example

To show how to select the last row from a table, we will use the following table:

MySQL - example data used to select the last row from a table
MySQL - example data used to select the last row from a table

Note:

At the end of this article you can find database preparation SQL queries.

Example 1 - select all columns

In this example, we will select all the information (columns) about the last user from the users table.

Query:

SELECT * FROM `users`
ORDER BY `id` DESC
LIMIT 1;

Output:

MySQL - select last row from a table - result
MySQL - select last row from a table - result

Example 2 - select specified columns

In this example, we will select id, name and country column information about the last user from the users table.

Query:

SELECT `id`, `name`, `country`
FROM `users`
ORDER BY `id` DESC
LIMIT 1;

Output:

MySQL - select last row from a table - result
MySQL - select last row from a table - result

Database preparation

create_tables.sql file:

CREATE TABLE `users` (
	`id` INT(10) UNSIGNED NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
	`name` VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	`email` VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	`country` VARCHAR(15) NOT NULL,
	PRIMARY KEY (`id`)
)
ENGINE=InnoDB;

insert_data.sql file:

INSERT INTO `users`
	(`name`, `email`, `country`)
VALUES
	('Tom', 'tom@email.com', 'Poland'),
	('Chris', 'chris@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Jack', 'jack@email.com', 'Spain'),
   ('Kim', 'kim@email.com', 'Vietnam'),
   ('Marco', 'marco@email.com', 'Italy'),
	('Kate', 'kate@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Nam', 'nam@email.com', 'Vietnam');

MySQL - Problems

MySQL - select last row
Native Advertising
­čÜÇ
Get your tech brand or product in front of software developers.
For more information Contact us
Dirask - we help you to
solve coding problems.
Ask question.

ÔŁĄ´ŞĆ­čĺ╗ ­čÖé

Join