Languages
[Edit]
EN

MySQL - Select from view

0 points
Created by:
Waleed-Gates
322

In this article, we would like to show you how to select from a view in MySQL.

Quick solution:

SELECT `column1`, `column2`, `columnN`
FROM `view_name`
WHERE condition;

Practical example

To show how to select from a view, we will use the following view named spain_users:

MySQL - example data used to select from view
MySQL - example data used to select from view

Note:

At the end of this article you can find database preparation SQL queries.

Example

In this example, we will select email column from the spain_users view.

Query:

SELECT `email`
FROM `spain_users`;

Result:

MySQL - SELECT from view - result
MySQL - SELECT from view - result

Database preparation

create_tables.sql file:

CREATE TABLE `users` (
	`id` INT(10) UNSIGNED NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
	`name` VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	`email` VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	`country` VARCHAR(15) NOT NULL,
	PRIMARY KEY (`id`)
)
ENGINE=InnoDB;

insert_data.sql file:

INSERT INTO `users`
	(`name`, `email`, `country`)
VALUES
	('Tom', 'tom@email.com', 'Poland'),
	('Chris','chris@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Jack','jack@email.com', 'Spain'),
    ('Kim','kim@email.com', 'Vietnam'),
    ('Marco','marco@email.com', 'Italy'),
	('Kate','kate@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Nam','nam@email.com', 'Vietnam');

create_view.sql file:

CREATE VIEW `spain_users` AS
SELECT *
FROM `users`
WHERE `country` = 'Spain';

MySQL - Problems

MySQL - Select from view
Native Advertising
🚀
Get your tech brand or product in front of software developers.
For more information Contact us
Dirask - we help you to
solve coding problems.
Ask question.

❤️💻 🙂

Join