Languages
[Edit]
EN

PostgreSQL - select last row

0 points
Created by:
Brian-Tompset
461

In this article, we would like to show you how to select the last row from a table in PostgreSQL.

Quick solution:

SELECT * FROM "table_name"
ORDER BY "column_name" DESC
LIMIT 1;

Practical example

To show how to select the last row from a table, we will use the following table:

PostgreSQL - example data used to select the last row from a table
PostgreSQL - example data used to select the last row from a table

Note:

At the end of this article you can find database preparation SQL queries.

Example 1 - select all columns

In this example, we will select all the information (columns) about the last user from the users table.

Query:

SELECT * FROM "users"
ORDER BY "id" DESC
LIMIT 1;

Output:

PostgreSQL - select last row from a table - result
PostgreSQL - select last row from a table - result

Example 2 - select specified columns

In this example, we will select id, name and country column information about the last user from the users table.

Query:

SELECT "id", "name", "country"
FROM "users"
ORDER BY "id" DESC
LIMIT 1;

Output:

PostgreSQL - select last row from a table - result
PostgreSQL - select last row from a table - result

Database preparation

create_tables.sql file:

CREATE TABLE "users" (
	"id" SERIAL PRIMARY KEY,
	"name" VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	"email" VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	"country" VARCHAR(15) NOT NULL
);

insert_data.sql file:

INSERT INTO "users"
	("name", "email", "country")
VALUES
	('Tom', 'tom@email.com', 'Poland'),
	('Chris', 'chris@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Jack', 'jack@email.com', 'Spain'),
    ('Kim', 'kim@email.com', 'Vietnam'),
    ('Marco', 'marco@email.com', 'Italy'),
	('Kate', 'kate@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Nam', 'nam@email.com', 'Vietnam');

PostgreSQL - problems

PostgreSQL - select last row
Native Advertising
🚀
Get your tech brand or product in front of software developers.
For more information Contact us
Dirask - we help you to
solve coding problems.
Ask question.

â€ïžđŸ’» 🙂

Join