Languages
[Edit]
EN

PostgreSQL - select from view

0 points
Created by:
Dirask JS Member
3670

In this article, we would like to show you how to select from a view in PostgreSQL.

Quick solution:

SELECT "column1", "column2", "columnN"
FROM "view_name"
WHERE condition;

Practical example

To show how to select from a view, we will use the following view named spain_users:

PostgreSQL - example data used to select from view
PostgreSQL - example data used to select from view

Note:

At the end of this article you can find database preparation SQL queries.

Example

In this example, we will select email column from the spain_users view.

Query:

SELECT "email"
FROM "spain_users";

Result:

PostgreSQL - SELECT from view - result
PostgreSQL - SELECT from view - result

Database preparation

create_tables.sql file:

CREATE TABLE "users" (
	"id" SERIAL PRIMARY KEY,
	"name" VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	"email" VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	"country" VARCHAR(15) NOT NULL
);

insert_data.sql file:

INSERT INTO "users"
	("name", "email", "country")
VALUES
	('Tom', 'tom@email.com', 'Poland'),
	('Chris','chris@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Jack','jack@email.com', 'Spain'),
    ('Kim','kim@email.com', 'Vietnam'),
    ('Marco','marco@email.com', 'Italy'),
	('Kate','kate@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Nam','nam@email.com', 'Vietnam');

create_view.sql file:

CREATE VIEW "spain_users" AS
SELECT *
FROM "users"
WHERE "country" = 'Spain';

PostgreSQL - problems

PostgreSQL - select from view
Native Advertising
🚀
Get your tech brand or product in front of software developers.
For more information Contact us
Dirask - we help you to
solve coding problems.
Ask question.

❤️💻 🙂

Join