Languages
[Edit]
EN

PostgreSQL - get row position with SELECT query

3 points
Created by:
marc_so
264

In this article, we would like to show you how to get row number with each row in PostgreSQL.

Quick solution:

SELECT 
    row_number() OVER(ORDER BY "id"),
    t.*
FROM table_name AS t;

Practical example

PostgreSQL - get row position with SELECT query
Table used in the example - HeidiSQL

Note:

At the end of this article you can find database preparation SQL queries.

Query:

SELECT 
    row_number() OVER(ORDER BY "id"),
    "name",
    "surname"
FROM users;

Output:

Results - HeidiSQL

Database preparation

create_tables.sql file:

CREATE TABLE "users" (
	"id" SERIAL PRIMARY KEY,
	"name" VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	"email" VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	"country" VARCHAR(15) NOT NULL
);

insert_data.sql file:

INSERT INTO "users"
	("name", "email", "country")
VALUES
	('Tom', 'tom@email.com', 'Poland'),
	('Chris','chris@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Jack','jack@email.com', 'Spain'),
    ('Kim','kim@email.com', 'Vietnam'),
    ('Marco','marco@email.com', 'Italy'),
	('Kate','kate@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Nam','nam@email.com', 'Vietnam');

PostgreSQL - problems

PostgreSQL - get row position with SELECT query
Native Advertising
🚀
Get your tech brand or product in front of software developers.
For more information Contact us
Dirask - we help you to
solve coding problems.
Ask question.

❤️💻 🙂

Join