Languages
[Edit]
EN

MySQL - Create or replace view

0 points
Created by:
Dirask Community
6390

In this article, we would like to show you how to create and update a view using CREATE OR REPLACE VIEW in MySQL.

Quick solution:

CREATE OR REPLACE VIEW `view_name` AS
SELECT `column1`, `column2`, `columnN`
FROM `table_name`
WHERE condition;

Practical example

To show how to create or replace a view, we will use the following table:

MySQL - example data used to create or replace a view
MySQL - example data used to create or replace a view

Note:

At the end of this article you can find database preparation SQL queries.

Example 1 - create view

In this example, we will create a view using CREATE OR REPLACE VIEW statement.

Query:

CREATE OR REPLACE VIEW `spain_users` AS
SELECT *
FROM `users`
WHERE `country` = 'Spain';

Result:

MySQL - create or replace a view - result
MySQL - create or replace a view - result

Example 2 - update view

In this example, we will remove the country column from the view created in Example 1. We will remove the column by updating the existing view using CREATE OR REPLACE VIEW statement.

Query:

CREATE OR REPLACE VIEW `spain_users` AS
SELECT `id`, `name`, `email`
FROM `users`
WHERE `country` = 'Spain';

Result:

MySQL - create or replace a view - result
MySQL - create or replace a view - result

Database preparation

create_tables.sql file:

CREATE TABLE `users` (
	`id` INT(10) UNSIGNED NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
	`name` VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	`email` VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	`country` VARCHAR(15) NOT NULL,
	PRIMARY KEY (`id`)
)
ENGINE=InnoDB;

insert_data.sql file:

INSERT INTO `users`
	(`name`, `email`, `country`)
VALUES
	('Tom', 'tom@email.com', 'Poland'),
	('Chris','chris@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Jack','jack@email.com', 'Spain'),
    ('Kim','kim@email.com', 'Vietnam'),
    ('Marco','marco@email.com', 'Italy'),
	('Kate','kate@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Nam','nam@email.com', 'Vietnam');

create_view.sql file:

CREATE VIEW `spain_users` AS
SELECT *
FROM `users`
WHERE `country` = 'Spain';

MySQL - Problems

MySQL - Create or replace view
Native Advertising
🚀
Get your tech brand or product in front of software developers.
For more information Contact us
Dirask - we help you to
solve coding problems.
Ask question.

❤️💻 🙂

Join