Languages
[Edit]
EN

MS SQL Server - duplicate table link---

0 points
Created by:
Dirask JS Member
3610

In this article, we would like to show you how to duplicate table in MS SQL Server.

Quick solution:

CREATE TABLE [new_table] AS SELECT * FROM [old_table];

Note:

This will copy only the data from old_table. If you want to copy the indexes too go to this article: MS SQL Server - duplicate table with indexes and data.

Practical example

To show how to duplicate table, we will use the following table:

MS SQL Server - example data used to duplicate table
MS SQL Server - example data used to duplicate table

Note:

At the end of this article you can find database preparation SQL queries.

Example

In this example, we will create a copy of users table named users_copy.

Query:

CREATE TABLE [users_copy] AS SELECT * FROM [users];

Output:

MS SQL Server - duplicate table - result in HeidiSQL
MS SQL Server - duplicate table - result in HeidiSQL

Database preparation

create_tables.sql file:

CREATE TABLE [users] (
	[id] INT IDENTITY(1,1),
	[name] VARCHAR(50) NOT NULL,
	[surname] VARCHAR(50) NOT NULL,
	[email] VARCHAR(50),
	PRIMARY KEY ([id])
);

insert_data.sql file:

INSERT INTO [users]
	( [name], [surname], [email])
VALUES
	('John', 'Stewart', 'john@email.com'),
	('Chris', 'Brown', 'chris@email.com'),
	('Kate', 'Lewis', 'kate@email.com'),
	('Ailisa', 'Gomez', 'ailisa@email.com'),
	('Gwendolyn', 'James', 'gwen@email.com'),
	('Simon', 'Collins', 'simon@email.com'),
	('Taylor', 'Martin', 'taylor@email.com'),
	('Andrew', 'Thompson', 'andrew@email.com');

Related posts

MS SQL Server - problems

MS SQL Server - duplicate table link---
Native Advertising
🚀
Get your tech brand or product in front of software developers.
For more information Contact us
Dirask - we help you to
solve coding problems.
Ask question.

❤️💻 🙂

Join