Languages
[Edit]
EN

MS SQL Server - Drop view link-- drop view if exist

0 points
Created by:
Theodora-Battle
428

In this article, we would like to show you how to DROP VIEW in MS SQL Server.

Quick solution:

DROP VIEW [view_name];

Practical example

To show how the DROP VIEW statement works, we will use the following table:

MS SQL Server - example data used with DROP VIEW statement
MS SQL Server - example data used with DROP VIEW statement

Note:

At the end of this article you can find database preparation SQL queries.

Example 

In this example, we will delete the Spain Users view which we created in this article.

Query:

DROP VIEW [Spain Users];

Output:

MS SQL Server - DROP VIEW result in HeidiSQL (before)
MS SQL Server - DROP VIEW result in HeidiSQL (before)
MS SQL Server - DROP VIEW IF EXISTS result in HeidiSQL (after)
MS SQL Server - DROP VIEW IF EXISTS result in HeidiSQL (after)

Note:

For more information go to this article: MS SQL Server - Drop view if exists

Database preparation

create_tables.sql file:

CREATE TABLE [users] (
	[id] INT IDENTITY(1,1),
	[name] VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	[email] VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
	[country] VARCHAR(15) NOT NULL,
	PRIMARY KEY ([id])
);

insert_data.sql file:

INSERT INTO [users]
	([name], [email], [country])
VALUES
	('Tom', 'tom01@email.com', 'Poland'),
	('Chris','chris123@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Jack','jack32@email.com', 'Spain'),
    ('Kim','kim103@email.com', 'Vietnam'),
    ('Marco','marco942@email.com', 'Italy'),
	('Kate','kate227@email.com', 'Spain'),
	('Nam','nam393@email.com', 'Vietnam');

Related posts

Donate to Dirask
Our content is created by volunteers - like Wikipedia. If you think, the things we do are good, donate us. Thanks!
Join to our subscribers to be up to date with content, news and offers.

MS SQL Server

Native Advertising
🚀
Get your tech brand or product in front of software developers.
For more information Contact us
Dirask - we help you to
solve coding problems.
Ask question.

❤️💻 🙂

Join